Home > Copyright, Copyright Right, CyberCrime, Ethics, Law, Privacy, Question, Quotes > The Google+’s Nym Probe – Isn’t it a Scam to Change Agreements Unilaterally and Retroactively?

The Google+’s Nym Probe – Isn’t it a Scam to Change Agreements Unilaterally and Retroactively?


"if you're not paying for something, you're not the customer; you're the product being sold" (Clik on the image to read)

"if you're not paying for something, you're not the customer; you're the product being sold" (Clik on the image to read)

.

. Update: Changed the title from initial
“I’ve Never Subscribed to either Buzz or Google+ but My Google Private Profiles ‘re Unilaterally and Retroactively  Published, then Dumped, Now Will Be Suspended?”

.

“The act of creating deliberately
confusing jargon
 and user-interfaces
which trick your users into sharing
more info about themselves than
they really want to”

Definition of Privacy Zuckering

.

It has become appallingly obvious that
our technology has exceeded our humanity.
~Albert Einstein

.

The evolution of sense is,
in a sense, the evolution of nonsense
~Vladimir Nabokov

.

.

After reading  the Stilgherrian’s “Right, Google, you stupid cunts, this is simply not on!”,
I’ve decided to write what have been bothering me for the very long time – that is, the ubiquitous internet practice of unilateral and retroactive changing of agreements.
And ,”naturally”, without any previous notice, with the notice about possible changes without any notice in the same ToS as well as  the big disclaimer part on waiving any guarantees or responsibilities

User agrees with ToS, while signing in, so it is the bi-lateral agreement. If s/he’s not likes conditions, he would not have subscribed.
But then s/he spends time, work, personal and business connections, acquires habits because he (presumable) trust to provider of an online service.
.

AIDY Poetry (well-structured and argumented) Horror  Story on Google+ Profile Suspended (dragonblogger.com)

AIDY Poetry (well-structured and argumented) Horror Story on Google+ Profile Suspended (dragonblogger.com)

Everybody seems to concentrate on the fact that Stilgherrian agreed to the terms when he signed to Google+.

Pardon me but I have never subscribed to either to Buzz or Google+!

I’ve subscribed and been using my Google accounts primarily for Email (GMail) personal business or private communication only(!) while decided to share my private Google profile for Gmail, GoogleTalk messaging,  Email-respondents.

That is, without any intentions of making my private (or personal business) profiles  or my contacts to go public. It is completely separate issues – communicating and socializing in social networks and communicating privately, I had never had any wish to confuse or put to risk my privacy nor gave ever any right to anybody to gamble and mingle  with it!.

Google Confirms It Aims to Own Your Online ID (businessweek.com)

Google Confirms It Aims to Own Your Online ID (businessweek.com)

Buzz? – I’ve never bothered to configure or understand what was that Buzz for and never agreed anyway but was terrified to get known afterwards (F*ck You, Google, etc.) that my private contacts and info published by the Buzz initiative.

I have never subscribed to Google+, like Stilgherrian had, but why are my private Google profiles (my info and content) to be (unilaterally and retroactively) purged?

And why when I am trying to change my public Google profile’s name it is telling that it doesn’t comply with Google naming policy and should pass moderation?

Google+ is a goddam Trojan horse (summify.com)

Google+ is a goddam Trojan horse (summify.com)

That is, I have not EVER subscribed to Google+ (to accept anything new!) but I cannot continue having profile privately as before (so, my content/data is dumped) and I cannot keep my previous name by whichI’m known to all my respondents because it started suddenly to infringe real-name Google naming policy!

And it has nothing to do with subscribing to GooglePlus!
And I’ve NEVER  ever agreed/signed to treat me and dump my data, work, time, contacts in this way!

I do not get why everybody disputes about the obvious human right to pseudonyms, nyms, pen names, multiple names, changeable names, privacy, security, protection while the current, being senseless, illegal and irrational to insist on,   situation is obviously just a probe or consequence of fundamental problem checking reaction of victims.

Bruce Schneier on Pseudonymity (schneier.com)

Bruce Schneier on Pseudonymity (schneier.com)

After this, the next, more serious one, will follow and non-stop.

How legitimate is unilateral retroactive changing of ToS (agreements) and imposing them on already hooked (by spent time, acquired communication contacts, habits, etc.) users?

And what is the sense in unilaterally and retroactively changeable ToS (agreements) ?

Is it the state of the art (sorry, life) to by all online service providers to constantly trick and gamble online users on the internet?

Isn’t it a trivial scam scheme – to hook a “client” on a (free or profitable) service (job, product, etc.) and then to unilaterally and  retroactively meddle with previously achieved agreements?

.

Update:

I have never subscribed to Google+ but I can still press both Google’s Buzz and “+1″ vote having public Google (Gmail?) profile.

Has Google+ replaced Buzz?

Because just today I buzzed on some webpages, such as this,
And I’ve never subscribed to Buzz either.

And what is the difference between pressing “+1″, that I see with all google search results (and most blog posts) when I am signed in to my GMail account vs. pressing Buzz button (that I do not see with Google search results but still see in some blog posts, forum posts and web pages?)?
When I pressed Buzz button today, it had offered to post it to may Google/GMail account profile while “+1″ does not offer me to do so.
Why and how is it split between GooglePlus and Google Buzz?
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

